Growing Out On A Limb

March Break 2015

Leave a comment

This is Oliver’s first year in school so was the first year where march break really mattered.  The kids and I jumped in the car and spent the week with our family in New Brunswick.  Unfortunately Nova Scotia’s march break doesn’t line up with NB so we only did a bit of visiting with friends.  Even more unfortunately, three out of four of us were sick at some point in the week.  But we still did lots of visiting with family, lots of playing outside, and made the most out of our week.

I was a bit nervous about the solo road trip with all three kids but I prepared a bunch of activities to keep them busy and they were great both ways.  We even downloaded/rented some kids’ audio books, which the kids seemed to really like (note to self for future road trips!).

On our first day home we were treated to a snow storm, which always makes me happy!

IMG_20150315_154821

Nana and papa have some massive drifts in their yard this year, which makes for good outdoor fun.  IMG_20150315_160008

Papa is nothing but a big kid and I am reminded of that every time I see him playing with the kids.  He was helping Emery climb the tree here.  IMG_20150315_160553

Then he was helping Emery bring out his inner monkey.  IMG_20150315_160833

I could tell he was itching to climb up that tree himself so I goaded him on a bit and … yup.  Big kid.  I hope he never changes.  IMG_20150315_160913

I worked on Monday, was sick Tuesday, and worked again Wednesday.  Then I took a couple of days off to just hang out.  Some of these pics are compliments of nana’s camera, just the odd pic while we were playing around the house.  DSCF0040 DSCF0047 DSCF0048 This was a beautiful sunrise out nana and papa’s front window.  We knew there was a storm coming that day so this was the “red sky at morning, sailors take warning”.  We did get quite a storm while in NB, but little did we know what was headed for Nova Scotia that day!  DSCF0057 DSCF0062 DSCF0081 On Friday, we just played around home.  I love playing outside with the kids (maybe I’m just a big kid too).

IMG_20150320_093423

Check out this massive snow drift behind the house.  In all their years there, a drift like this has never built up.  Emery saw that tiny patch of bare ground and said, “Mommy!  Spring!” while standing beside a 10-foot snowbank.  I had to smile.  IMG_20150320_140255

We dug tunnels… DSCF0086 … and jumped …DSCF0090

… and slid… IMG_20150320_142517

… and slid some more.  IMG_20150320_142630

IMG_20150320_142748 What a silly bunch!   DSCF0092 We had a really fun week overall and I was really thankful that my co-pilots were good travelers.  I love the idea of doing something special for march break and, even though pictures of beaches and palm trees were inundating my news feed, there’s no place I would have rather been.  DSCF0096 (Okay, part of me wanted to be home once that big storm hit, to be part of it.  But we did our share of shoveling in the end and you can’t replace quality time with family!)

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

