Growing Out On A Limb

Strawberries!

2 Comments

For weeks we have been eyeing the wild strawberry plants around the playgrounds in our subdivision.  Yesterday I noticed that one in particular was not only ready but huge.

Since we don’t have a u-pick nearby (boo), I decided today that we needed to go on a strawberry picking adventure and have strawberry shortcake for supper.

Oliver looks busy here but he quickly gave up due to the bugs and the heat and spent his time in the shade of the play structure.  IMG_20140702_132735 Emery, always the trooper, stuck with me the whole time and enthusiastically exclaimed, “I found a big juicy one!” about every other strawberry he picked.  He so thinks with his gut!  IMG_20140702_132739 Our bounty.  Yum.  IMG_20140702_164814 Strawberry shortcake – biscuits, berries, and whipped cream.  Soooo good and we all agreed it was worth enduring the bugs and the heat for an hour.  IMG_20140702_182815 Eleanor agreed.  She has four teeth coming in at the moment and I’m pretty sure at least one of them is a sweet tooth!  IMG_20140702_182830Strawberry picking reminded me of being a young girl, going out behind the house with a little bowl, and spending what seemed like forever to get enough strawberries for a small bowl of berries and milk.  It hardly seemed worth it when I was little but today, as I prepared fresh and delicious food for my family from strawberries that we took the time to pick ourselves from the wild, I got it.  It’s the type of innocent pleasure that this generation seems to be missing out on more and more, and exactly the type that I want my kids to experience again and again.

 

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

2 thoughts on “Strawberries!

  1. I just to read your blog about your special times with your children. What wonderful memories they will have to share with family and “teachers”! I remember those times when we went picking berries with our flock! Oh, what a mess they made on their clothes! Those berries looked huge. We’re they wild?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

