Growing Out On A Limb

Crafty Fall Fun

2 Comments

We love a good craft around here, especially when it comes in pumpkin and leaf form.  I’m finding crafts are a really good distraction sometimes when home with three kids … almost necessary some days … and there are some really good fall crafts out there.  

I found this stained glass leaf craft here.  I didn’t put the borders around the leaves but Oliver and I had fun with it and they sure look pretty in the window.

IMG_3004

IMG_3005

I love this time of year and I love carving pumpkins but, since the kids aren’t old enough to carve yet, we look for other ideas.  When Oliver was tearing up tissue paper for the leaf craft, he started keeping some of it in long strips and started talking about a mummy pumpkin.  I had no idea where it was coming from but he was still talking about it the next day when we picked up the pumpkins.

So I drew the eyes and he started gluing the strips of paper.  I asked him if he had seen the idea in a book or on TV and he said it was in his own head.  I love that he let his creativity take over and led this craft on his own.

IMG_3008He is quite proud of it too.
IMG_3009 Who doesn’t love a minion?  My boys do so when I saw these minion pumpkins I knew we had to have one of our own.  Once we got started I realized that much of this craft was too hard for Oliver yet but we shared the painting and both boys helped me put the pipe cleaner hair in.  IMG_3040I think it is adorable and I wish we had time to make a whole family of them.  
IMG_3051

The boys are pretty excited about both pumpkins and about Halloween in general this year.  And we are having fun decorating since we’ve never lived in a house where Halloween decorations could be seen and now the boys are big enough to enjoy them.  IMG_3048
And this one is just for fun.  Emery wasn’t feeling real smiley – he has been sick all week – so goofy faces were in order.  IMG_3055

(If you think that one is good, you should see the outtakes. )

 

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

2 thoughts on “Crafty Fall Fun

  1. What a corny family!!!!!
    Mom

  2. Thanks for popping by my blog and for following. Cool craft ideas here, I’m going to bookmark them for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

