Growing Out On A Limb

Eleanor – One Month Old

1 Comment

Eleanor turned one month old on Sunday.  With all of the big changes in our family lately, the days have been even more of a blur than usual and her one-month birthday leaves me with two feelings – on one hand, the labor and delivery seems like so long ago and I’m left thinking, “that was only four weeks ago?!”; on the other hand, it all seems like yesterday (I’m sure all moms can relate to that feeling).

Eleanor is still sleeping a lot and doing well through the night too (I’m up once and again early but then she goes back to sleep early morning).  She is also really good at sleeping close to the chaos of a 4- and 2-year old, which is helpful pretty much a necessity.

The boys are both really good to her.  They both ask to hold her quite a bit and say they love her and are generally very gentle with her.

Mostly he’s okay, but sometimes I notice a bit of envy in Emery, especially when he wants to sit with me but can’t because I’m feeding Eleanor.  A few times Emery has said, “I’m feeding my teddy” and when I look over he’s got his shirt lifted up and the teddy held up to his chest… it’s so cute and innocent and warms my heart.

How do we celebrate one-month birthdays around here?  Why, we take pictures, of course!

IMG_2790

The angle of this shot kills me.  I might need to get this put on canvas.  IMG_2795-001

Check out those chubby cheeks – signs of a good eater.

  • Five days after being born, she was back at her birth weight (6 pounds 3.5 ounces).
  • At her two week checkup, she was at 7 pounds 4 ounces – a full pound more than her birth weight.
  • At one month old, she weighs in at a whopping 9 pounds 6 ounces – more than two pounds in two weeks!

Wow… she’s beautiful.

IMG_2806

Right out of the bath, which she loves.  IMG_2813

This is her “worried” look, as one nurse put it.  I think she is also doing some finger exercises here (working herself up to being a great piano player).  Or trying to flip me the bird… not sure.

IMG_2824We all love her so much!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

One thought on “Eleanor – One Month Old

  1. Eleanor is doing great. She is getting older looking and changing her look! OH SOOOO CUTE!! I bed the boys love her to bits! I like her outfits. I will have to get busy and make her something for Christmas. Anything particular in mind?? What about the boys??

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

