Growing Out On A Limb

A Bridal Shower for Ali

Leave a comment


On the weekend I had the pleasure of throwing a bridal shower for my sister, Ali.  I love planning these types of parties… games, party foods, just the right touch of decorations.

I didn’t get a lot of good pictures of the girls because of camera issues.  And unfortunately this is the only one I got of the bride.

IMG_1737

I think everyone would agree that Aaliyah was the cutest party guest!

IMG_1749

IMG_1730

One of the games was a mad libs game that gave Ali some bridal advice.

IMG_1766

IMG_1735

IMG_1732

We also played ‘Who Has the Groom’, which is more of a door prize than an actual game.  I cut out tuxedos and various celebrity heads (one was the groom’s head) and tucked them into envelopes.  Whoever got the groom won the prize!  It was pretty funny to see who opened what celebrity.  I got Bob Barker and, I have to admit, I wasn’t totally disappointed!

IMG_1761

The last game was Staches and Tiaras.  I asked the bride and groom the same 20 questions each, then read the questions out loud to the party guests and picked one of the answers.  If they thought it was the bride’s answer, they put the tiara to their head.  If they thought it was the groom’s answer, they put up the stache.  This was a fun one too!
IMG_1739

IMG_1740

IMG_1743
The drinks table.  IMG_1693

 

 

 

 

I love these striped paper straws.  I made a lemon iced tea and this pomegranate soda, which was so good.

IMG_1689

Food!  We did a crostini bar with hummus, mango chutney, bruschetta, gruyere, and baked goat cheese, skewers with mango, bocconcini, and prosciutto, a yummy fruit and cookie tray with a lime cream cheese ball, and a lemon and berry trifle that I will most definitely make again.  IMG_1700These vases were hung on the deck outside… I bought it when I saw it at Marden’s!

IMG_1715Tissue paper flowers were hung outside and inside, in pink, orange, white, and yellow.
IMG_1716Insert picture of pretty hanging flower basket here (for no good reason other than I think it’s pretty).  IMG_1718And another shot of the tissue paper flowers hung around the food inside.
IMG_1758I was honored to host this party for my sweet sister and had so much fun getting ready for it and hosting it.

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

