Growing Out On A Limb

He’s so funny!

Leave a comment

IMG_3934-001

A few weeks ago, Oliver and I were reading stories at bedtime, laying on our backs like we usually do.  Out of nowhere, mid-sentence, Oliver reaches over, starts rubbing my chest (i.e. the bump that is my breast), and says, “Oh look!  I see where the baby’s head is in your belly!”.

I kind of chuckled and said, “Actually, honey, the baby is down here – in mommy’s belly” and I pointed lower to my stomach.

He thought for a second and said, “Oh.  Well… what’s this?” as he is still rubbing my chest.

“That’s mommy’s breast”.  (That’s it, that’s all.  I’m not going to call it anything but what it is but I’m not going to offer up more info than is necessary at this age either).

He thinks for another few seconds and says, “Huh.  Weeeelllll… it looks like the hump on a camel!”.

I chuckled a little but not too much.  Because … well, he’s not wrong!!

~~~~~~~

We were only back from our Jamaica trip for a couple of days and I was once again tucking Oliver in at bedtime.

He said, “Mommy, I don’t like to say goodbye”.

I thought he meant when we say goodnight at bedtime so I said, “We don’t have to say goodbye.  All we have to say is, ‘Good night!  See you in the morning!'”.

“Weeeeellll… maybe we could say something other than ‘goodbye’.  Like…. pickle!”, he said.

We giggled, decided that was a fine idea, said, “Pickle!” to each other and he went to sleep.

Almost two weeks later, I still say “Pickle!” at night or when I drop him off at Jean’s in the morning.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love the way his little mind works!

 

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

