Growing Out On A Limb

My ski bunny!

1 Comment

Look what we’ve been up to lately … a mountain!

Last Saturday I decided to take Oliver skiing.  I know some who have started their kids earlier but I knew Oliver wasn’t ready.  He’s always been shy in new situations and intimidated by a crowd but as he gets older he seems more and more open to stepping outside of his comfort zone.

This year it felt right.  And our local ski hill (and by local I mean just across the border in Mars Hill – Big Rock) has really great rates this year!

I really didn’t know what to expect that first time out but I prepared him as much as I could… for getting the rentals, for the “robot” boots, for falling.  And he really impressed me with how open he was to trying it, even with a whole other class of kids skiing around him.

Hands on his knees… pizza shape with the skis (aka snowplow).  He listened really well to everything I had to say and, when he fell down, he said, “That’s ok!  I just get back up!”.

The magic carpet is pretty enticing for a little boy too.  (And this mommy thinks it is a HECK of a lot better than the old pony lifts!)

IMG_3752

He only skied an hour that first day but I was so pleased that he tried it at all that I didn’t mind.  As we were leaving, I told him I wanted a picture with the mountain behind him and he said, “Mommy, let’s have a picture by this traffic cone!”, one that he noticed on the way in.  Funny.  IMG_3756Then Oliver and I went to Ruby Tuesday’s for some lunch where we shared some salad and a grilled cheese sandwich.
IMG_3760His first experience went so well that we decided to go buy him a set of skis that next week.  I know, it seems impulsive, but we decided it was worth it because he enjoys it, they will go through two children, and they will save us a rental fee every time we go so really, they pay for themselves quickly!  Yay for $5 trips to the mountain!

So we broke those puppies in this past Saturday!  He wasn’t quite in the same mood but we got a few more runs in than last time.  And he continued to do well.
IMG_3768

He gets braver with every run.  Here’s a video.

 

Yup, I fell just after the camera turned off.

Anyway, he is doing so well I’m thinking about taking him to the little class that goes on Saturday mornings, to see how he responds to that.  It will be his first group (sort of) sport.

I’m so glad he likes winter.  And being outside.  And skiing.  And being with me.  And I’m really glad he continues to surprise me.

IMG_3769

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

One thought on “My ski bunny!

  1. Looking forward to the day when Nana and Papa get to ski with Oliver too!!

Leave a Reply

