Growing Out On A Limb

Christmas preamble

Leave a comment

Every year I say I’m going to scale back.  I’m going to buy less and make more.  I’m not going to stress about gifts or menus or baking or getting here or there.  I’m going to slow down and enjoy the boys and feed off their excitement.

Well, I haven’t made any homemade gifts this year but I have bought a bit less I think.  I put up fewer decorations.  The only baking I’ve done is for the get together we’re having tonight and I’m even (gasp!) stopping at the bakery on the way home to pick up one more thing for the sweets plate.  No shame here.  And we’ve spent lots of time at home together and some time out visiting family too.

But I still feel like I didn’t have time to get everything done.  Maybe that’s just the way it’s going to be, no matter how much I pull back.

Oliver is really excited about Christmas this year and has been counting down the sleeps for the last few days.  This morning he woke up and said, “It’s only one more now, isn’t it mommy?”.

IMG_0736

Since October I have been using the “ask Santa for one for Christmas!” line when we’re in the store and he sees something he likes.  The first time I used it he was looking at a Ferdinand train (Thomas’s friend).  Now, I thought he would change his mind a hundred times before Christmas but even today, if you ask him what Santa is going to bring him, it’s “Ferginand”.  We’ll see what Santa brings (* wink wink *).

We didn’t write a letter to Santa this year but I told Oliver that I wrote one for him and sent it.  Then I made them both the Portable North Pole videos that we did last year.  These are so cute… you fill in a few blanks and Santa talks right to them.  I’m not sure why but Oliver didn’t seem as taken by it this year; he kept asking to watch Thomas videos instead.

Emery is too young to get it but he knows Santa and Rudolph and Frosty to see them.  And of course he feeds off of Oliver’s energy.  I’m quite looking forward to them opening their presents tomorrow morning.  I want it to be as relaxed and fun as possible and if it takes us all morning, that’s fine with me.

We’re dying for snow here but instead we’ve got hard crusty snow, ice, and cold temps.  Not very fun playing outdoors weather.  The up side to this is that I see Oliver’s imagination come out more and more while watching him play.

I love this shot of our little techies.

IMG_0711

Lately Oliver wants to get up in the stool at the kitchen island and watch videos on daddy’s computer (which translates to Thomas on youtube).  We plug the mouse in and he clicks around, even clicks the ‘skip ad’ link to get by the commercials.  Atta boy.

We setup our teddies to have a nap on this day.  Guess how long the nap lasted??

IMG_0726

Only one more sleep now!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

