Growing Out On A Limb

Fresh Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting

1 Comment

For Ali’s baby shower, I wanted something other than the plain chocolate, vanilla, or red velvet.  And I wanted something seasonal so my first thought went to peaches.  It turns out there aren’t a whole lot of cupcake recipes out there with fresh peaches but I didn’t need to look further than the first one google took me to … this one from smittenkitchen.com.

I wish I had got a picture of one of these cupcakes broken open.  The peaches were cute quite small but big enough that every bite had a chunk of fresh peach in it.  Yumm.  And they were so moist.  Definitely a keeper.

I went with this brown sugar cream cheese frosting though, one I have used before, because the one at smitten kitchen is thinner and I worried about how it would stand up to presentation.  I’ll try it another time.  The only thing I changed about the frosting recipe was to use less almond extract… I remembered it being a really strong flavor the first time so just cut it back a bit.

 

CUPCAKE INGREDIENTS

3 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

pinch nutmeg

3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temp.

3/4 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

3 large peaches, chopped quite finely (the original recipe says to peel them but I don’t think I did)

 

CUPCAKE DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350.  Line muffin cups with cupcake liners.

Sift together the dry ingredients.

Cream the butter and sugars together.  Beat until fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl between each addition.  Add vanilla. Gently mix in the buttermilk.  Stir in the dry ingredients.  Fold in the peach chunks.

Divide the batter among the cupcake liners.  I think I got 27 cupcakes out of this recipe.  Bake for 18 to 22 mins.  Cool for a few minutes, then turn onto a wire rack.

 

BROWN SUGAR CREAM CHEESE FROSTING INGREDIENTS

1 pkg cream cheese, softened

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

2 Tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 Tbsp honey

 

BROWN SUGAR CREAM CHEESE FROSTING DIRECTIONS

Melt butter and allow to cool.

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients but the honey.  Beat until mixture starts to stiffen.  Stop mixer and add honey.

Continue to beat until light and fluffy.  Do not over mix or it will collapse.

Spread immediate.  Store in refrigerator.

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

One thought on “Fresh Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting

  1. Pingback: Fresh Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting « The Best Cupcake Recipes

Leave a Reply

