Growing Out On A Limb

Father’s Day, 2012

2 Comments

I feel pretty lucky to know what a good dad is.  My father always had lots on his plate with work and keeping a home (something I didn’t and couldn’t appreciate until I had a family and home of my own) but he was always engaged, interested in what we were doing, fun, and liked to spend time with us.

Of course that description doesn’t begin to do my father justice but I say that to say that having that model in my own father makes me recognize the good dad that hubby is.  I am grateful for him and the huge role he plays in our sons’ lives.  He deserves the biggest father’s day possible.  Though we don’t have unlimited resources, I think we hit pretty close using what we do have.

Today we started out at the park and let daddy have some time to get some things done around the house.

This kid loves the park!

We played for a while at the baseball diamond, in and out of the dugouts.  Oliver called the infield ‘the desert’ because of all the fine sand.

Oliver’s sitting on the big swings this year but isn’t pumping his legs yet.  Today he learned how to drag his feet and make himself stop which of course made him so proud.  Baby steps!

We spent the afternoon at ‘the blue house’, taking wheeler rides and playing in the brook.

I swear, if it didn’t rain for three weeks there would still be a puddle on the road in front of the camp. And the boys would still find them irresistible.

My dad isn’t just a great dad but an awesome papa as well.  He has spent hours building two trails near the camp, all marked with orange tape so Oliver could follow them himself.  He just loves the boys so much.  I watch him with them and find myself wondering if he was the same way with me when I was their age.

One of them leads to this beautiful little waterfall where we threw rocks and sticks in the water.

Such a pretty spot.

I can’t get enough of these smiles!

Love this shot of Emery with the pine wall behind and the barrel behind.  I think it was begging for black and white.

We had a really nice day but this momma is exhausted after almost a full day in the sun!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day, 2012

  1. That was a nice day I agree- so nice to have you all out to enjoy the rustic camp life. Great picture of the falls!!. I got a couple of nice fish out of there.

Leave a Reply

