Growing Out On A Limb

Oliver’s first haircut (without fight or flailing!)

Leave a comment

Yes, my boy is three.

Yes, I am posting haircut pictures.

No, this isn’t his first haircut.  But yes, this is the first haircut he sat for without complaint.

 

It took preparation:  “Oliver, we’re going to cut your hair after supper tonight!”.

It took setup:  His kitchen chair pulled up close to the TV.

It took distraction:  A video.  One he hasn’t seen before.  And it had a car in it.  That helped.

It took bribery:  Chocolate.  A tiny box of Smarties that, to a toddler, seems like a big ole pot of gold.

 

But he sat and I cut and, for once, I could take my time and do it all.  And, perhaps most importantly, I didn’t have to maneouver my scissors around flailing limbs and a bobbing head!

If your kid has always sat for a haircut, good for them.  But if you’re the mom of a spirited toddler and you get what I’m saying, take comfort in the fact that it will turn around!

Maybe we’ll try him with an actual hairdresser soon?  Cause I get the job done but I really don’t know what I’m doing!

This is terribly blurry but I love his strike-a-pose look…

And, of course, we need a ‘Smile!’ picture…

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

