Growing Out On A Limb

A day home with the boys

Leave a comment

I stayed home with the kids on Monday and what a great day we had. 

We spent a couple of hours at the gym with Nancy and Vicky.  Oliver was so excited for this because he remembered all of the toys there.  Have I mentioned that my local gym has a “Mom’s Club” on weekdays from 9-11 am?  They will watch your children while you work out and it’s all included in your membership.  I love that.  It kind of saved me on my first mat leave when I was working through post partum depression. 

We had a fun lunch with our friend Colleen.  The boys have missed her!  I’ve missed her too and she is so kind to my children. 

It was such a beautiful day that we spent a couple of hours outside in the afternoon.  Emery is in the sled in one of the pictures below but I was impressed with how much he walked.  If he got off the trail to deeper snow he was in trouble but he really did well on the trail.  He brought the walk to a slower pace but Oliver and I didn’t mind – we stopped often to build “mountains” and “tunnels”. 

Snowy mitts! 

I like this shot of big brother pulling little brother. 

Speaking of brothers, these shots are of them playing together on the couch late in the afternoon.  Oliver is involving Emery much more in his play, now that Emery is old enough to play more like him and not just grab his toys, and I love watching them laugh and carry on together.  Some of the pictures are blurry but they show them as they are – constantly in motion – and you still get a sense of brothers playing together. 

Emery tries everything big brother does. 

Go, go, go…

All smiles… even if it’s with a fingernail scratch on his chin. 

Climb!

Go, go, go some more…

Emery took a Wiggles break … “Quack!  Quack!  Quack!  Quack!  Cock-a-doodle-doo!”

I had a great day at home with my boys.  A day like that makes me think extra hard about making it a fulltime gig!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

