Growing Out On A Limb

Oliver’s Mater Cake

Leave a comment

Every time I asked Oliver what he wanted on his birthday cake, the answer changed… Mater, Cars, trucks, airplanes.  I had to land on something and Mater was the most common response so a Mater cake it would be!

I originally planned to do a fondant-covered cake like I usually do but I wasn’t sure I would have the time to actually  make Mater out of fondant.  Not to mention that I wasn’t at all sure that I would be able to do it well.

Then I remembered frozen buttercream transfers, which I’ve been wanting to try for a while anyway.  It’s a great method for creating images and is much easier than direct piping, which I am really not good at yet.

There are tons of great tutorials out there but here it is in a nutshell:  Print your image in reverse (i.e. mirror image).  Tape it to a flat surface.  Lay a piece of wax paper over it and tape that down as well.  Using dark buttercream, pipe the outline of the image.  Then use your other colors of buttercream to fill in the image, keeping in mind that you are going to flip this over when you are done so the colors you pipe on first will be on top.  Pop it in the freezer for at least 90 minutes (or overnight) and then flip it onto your cake before the party.

This was a marble cake with chocolate buttercream filling and peanut butter buttercream on top.  It was like eating a big peanut butter cup… yum!!  (Note to self:  I’m not sure peanut butter buttercream was the best choice for the transfer since it has a slightly greasy consistency compared to regular buttercream … either that or I should have thinned it more because you shouldn’t see the individual piped lines of icing in the transfer… but it looked ok in the end).

And Oliver says he liked it and that’s the most important thing of all!

Here’s a closeup of the transfer.  Can you see the fingerprints on Mater in this shot?  My goodness, Oliver is quick!



Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

