Growing Out On A Limb

Pumpkins

Leave a comment

I see so many really neat craft ideas for kids online but I find it a little difficult to find ones that are appropriate for Oliver’s age.  At this point he really just scribbles (cutely) or dumps the glitter glue instead of drawing with it (very cutely) or mixes all of the paint colors together so his pictures always end up that gag-me color of brown/purple/gray (which is still done very cutely).

But I figure that whether it’s scribbling or a masterpiece, he’s practicing important motor skills and creativity and, most importantly, we’re spending time together.

This time it was foam pumpkins.  I hot-glued the googly eyes on them (cause everything’s better with googly eyes) and we let loose with markers and glitter glue.

He wanted to go through all of the colors once he figured out how to squeeze the bottle and get some out.

I think he likes figuring out how to screw the caps on and off as much as he likes decorating the pumpkins.  Yup, we’re well into the “I want to do it!” stage.   I like this picture of his hands at work.

In the end I punched holes in every pumpkin and strung them as garland in our living room window.  I don’t usually decorate for fall or Halloween but I’m a sucker for homemade art.

And Oliver seems proud to see them hung.  It surprises me every time how a few scribbles or globs of glue can make this momma’s heart melt a little.  They’re all masterpieces to me!    

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

