Growing Out On A Limb

Growth Chart

2 Comments

I had in my mind for a while that I wanted a growth chart.  Not a paper one that Oliver could (and would) rip off the wall, but something that would be likely to last forever and serve both boys.

So I bought some muslin canvas with an idea in mind.  It was beautifully simple but the embroidery stitching scared me and seemed time consuming.  In the end I also thought it should be a little more colorful – not gawdy and covered in shapes and pictures, but just a little something.

I used freezer paper stenciling and fabric paint for the numbers and the inch marks, which probably ended up being a lot more work than the stitching would have been, but I love how it turned out.  And we hung it with a limb which means it goes perfectly with the curtains in the nursery (which are also hung that way).

I’m not expecting either of my boys to grow to six feet tall but you never know…

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

2 thoughts on “Growth Chart

  1. I love it! How do you have time for this stuff?

Leave a Reply

