Growing Out On A Limb

Easter Basket from Felted Sweater

3 Comments

When I went looking for Easter baskets, all I could find were those woven baskets in pastel colors or cloth baskets that were choking in a disney character of some sort.  Okay, so I may have been tempted to buy a Thomas basket but I didn’t see one and didn’t see anything else I liked, which brought me to making my own.

This is made out of a felted cable-knit sweater.  Just a circle cut for the bottom, and a longer piece for the walls (tip: measure the circumference of the bottom piece using a piece of yarn!).  I folded over the top and cut a slit on either side so I could slide the handle in and button it all on.  I thought about adding some embroidery thread to make it a little more spring-y but I liked this simple look a lot so I left it alone.

I realize Oliver will probably want something a little more exciting when they’re older but this should do him for a few years?

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

3 thoughts on “Easter Basket from Felted Sweater

  1. You are so crafty. LOVE your ideas 🙂 Keep em coming!

  2. Love this, looks so simple!

Leave a Reply

