Growing Out On A Limb

Simple Fishing Game

1 Comment

For a while now, I have had a simple fishing game bookmarked in my favorites as a crafty project to make for Oliver.  I’ve seen them all over crafty blogland, where the “hook” is a magnet and the fish are made of cute fabric scraps and have magnets somehow attached or sewn inside.  I have always thought Oliver would get a kick out of it but it is a bit too time-consuming for this mommy of two.  For now, at least. 

So when I saw this even simpler fishing game, I jumped in and made it in ten minutes (maybe less).  It probably took me more time to get the supplies together than it did to assemble them.  Just twist a few pipe cleaners into fish shapes, glue a magnet to the end of a string, and tie the string to the end of a stick.  Simple, right? 

 

Oliver played with it for a good 20 or 25 minutes before getting tired of it.  It’s a great way to practice counting and, if you make the fish in different colors, you can also practice colors so I think this is something I’ll be able to bring out on rainy afternoons for quite a while! 

Papa, we’re practicing for the summer!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

One thought on “Simple Fishing Game

  1. I could use something like that at the office!

Leave a Reply

