Growing Out On A Limb

Sick

Leave a comment

If I had to give the last month a theme, it would be “sick”.  It all started with me and strep a few weeks ago and seems to have been swirling around us ever since.  Oliver had a few bad days with fever and runny nose and no appetite, which then jumped to Emery and I.  We’re still trying to fight back from it.  By the way, is there anything worse than a baby with a phlegmy cough?  I don’t think so, poor thing. 

Being a mommy is the world’s hardest job on a good day but on a day when your sinuses are throbbing and your brain is rattling around in your skull with even the slightest movement, it somehow seems harder.  I’m really lucky (so so lucky) to have a cheap sitter that will take Oliver when I need her to.  It makes me feel for the many many moms that don’t have that luxury when they need it and stand in awe of those who can but choose not to use the option.  But as long as Emery is breastfed, he’s here with me and, with a cold like I had this week, it is seriously all I can handle.  Breastfeeding sucks when every muscle in your body aches and you’re sweating buckets already.  Trust me, Oliver would have much more fun with his buddies at the sitter than with a miserable mom. 

There are people that take the aches and pains in stride but not me… a head cold makes me want to hibernate under the covers with my wool socks, bad tv, and a hot drink (or strip to barely anything with an ice pack on my belly).  And I need everyone in my path to know just how lousy I’m feeling (sorry hubby).  I still get the urge to call my mom when I realize I’m sick and call her every day to tell her how I’m feeling.  I suppose it’s a little because she’s a nurse but almost all because she’s my mom. 

I hate seeing my kids sick but I have to admit something.  When my two-year-old isn’t feeling well, he goes from being constantly-on-the-move-at-the-speed-of-light to crawling into mommy’s arms, laying his head on my shoulder, and sitting quietly with me.  Maybe he’s going to be a needy sick person like his mommy?  Whether he is or not, I love it when he snuggles in like that, sick or not.  Those quiet moments make me remember when that big pile of kid was just a little baby burrito, all swaddled and teeny and cozy in my arms.  And it reminds me how much I love being his mom and giving him the special comfort that I find myself still going to my mom for. 

Here’s some 3 1/2-month eye candy that would make even the sickest of the sick smile. 

p.s. This little fella has been rolling over for a couple of weeks now!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

