Growing Out On A Limb

Falafel

Leave a comment

I bought those boxes of add-your-own-water falafel mix for a long time.  They were yummy but when I realized how easy it is to make my own, I never looked back!  I make falafel about once a month but Hubby and I agree I could make it more. 

We love them tucked into a pita with lettuce, tomato, and tzatziki sauce.  Oliver likes them too (for him I use the little pita wedges you see in the pictures), which I think is awesome. 

INGREDIENTS

19-oz can chickpeas (also called garbanzo beans)

1 small onion, chopped

3 or 4 garlic cloves

2 Tbsp fresh parsley, chopped (or a tablespoon of dried)

2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped (or a tablespoon of dried)

1 1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp salt

pinch dried chili flakes

1/4 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

DIRECTIONS

Put the first eight ingredients in a food processer; pulse until combined but not yet smooth.  Add flour and baking powder; pulse until mixture is soft and can be rolled into little balls without sticking much to the hands.  Add more flour if necessary. 

Roll into meatball-sized balls.  Flatten into patties if desired.  I have found patties easier to fry and easier to tuck into a pita. 

Heat a bit of oil and fry on each side until golden.  I sometimes have to add some more oil between batches. 

Tuck them in a pita with some tzatziki sauce, lettuce, tomato, and munch away!

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

