Growing Out On A Limb

Upcycled Boy Hats

Leave a comment

One of my favorite, favorite, favorite crafty/mommy blogs is I am momma… hear me roar!  I’m not sure how I stumbled across it but I just love her creativity and that her projects vary widely in their theme – from little boy things to refashioning clothing to home decor.  And the bonus is that she has two boys, which means a lot of little boy projects (and lots of cute pictures too). 

Several weeks ago she posted a tutorial for “Upcycled Boy Hats” and people all over have taken to them, including me.  The fact that they’re made out of old shirts and other materials is definitely up our alley.  I finally got around to trying them, more out of necessity than anything – a litlte boy simply can’t survive with ONE hat, especially when that hat’s green and purple (I swear it was blue when I bought it). 

Here is the tutorial I used, over at her site. 

I threw caution to the wind a bit and made these without measuring Oliver’s head.  The circumference was not an issue but the height of the hat was.  Once finished, they were just too tall so there was too much “loose hat” on top of his head.  Thankfully, the pattern lends itself well to just cutting the hat in two, taking off some height, and re-sewing. 

And here’s the finished product: 

  

Now that‘s hat love! 

I love how easy these were.  I love that you can use the patterns of the clothing being recycled to make these unique.  I love the look of the ear flaps (although I may have to add a fastener of some sort for Oliver to keep it on his head). 

 And I love that hubby asked for one for him.  🙂

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

