Growing Out On A Limb

Bread and Butter Pickles

Leave a comment

We still have lots of dill pickles in the pantry so I am adding bread and butter pickles to the mix this year.  I found this recipe at allrecipes.com.  Ninety glowing reviews can’t be wrong, right? 

The only substitution I made was to use red bell peppers instead of the green.  I can’t imagine it affecting the taste much and it makes it a bit prettier in the jar. 

I used my food processor’s slicer attachment to do the cukes, onions, and peppers.  It hacked some of the cucumbers a little more than than you might want, but it’s worth the savings in time and effort. 

INGREDIENTS

25 cucumbers, thinly sliced

6 onions, thinly sliced

2 green bell peppers, diced

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 cup salt

3 cups cider vinegar

5 cups white sugar

2 Tbsp mustard seed

1 1/2 tsp celery seed

1/2 tsp whole cloves

1 Tbsp ground turmeric

DIRECTIONS

In a large bowl, mix together cucumbers, onions, bell peppers, garlic and salt.  Allow to stand approximately 3 hours.  (I have to note here that I do not own a bowl that big so I had to use a new, washed-well pail – many commenters had to find other solutions too). 

After soaking the cucumber mix, put the cider vinegar, white sugar, mustard seed, celery seed, whole cloves, and turmeric in a large pot (large enough to hold all of the cucumber mix).  Bring to a boil. 

Meanwhile, drain the cucumbers.  I took the advice of many commenters and also rinsed them.  Stir the mixture in to the boiling vinegar mixture.  Remove from heat just before the mixture returns to a boil. 

Transfer to sterile containers.  Seal and chill in the refrigerator until serving.  (I wanted to store these in my pantry, so I also processed them in a hot-water bath for 10 minutes).

Author: furrychocolates

30-something living in New Brunswick, Canada. Married with two adorable boys, piano player and teacher, curler, and enjoy all types of sewing and crafting.

Leave a Reply

